Hykeham Sailing Club


01522 684287



News & Links


Site Index >>



Taster Days


Hykeham 2017

Classic & Vintage

Racing Dinghy Event

Hykeham Sailing Club hosted the annual championship which have been going for over 17 years.  20 crews with different ability from Covenham, Grimsby & Cleethorpe & Hykeham took part.  The youngest competitor was 9.

The competitors enjoyed some enjoyable and competitive sailing in glorious sunshine and an ideal breeze. with a  ad an enjoyable day’s racing sailing conditions, sunshine and wind.


The Covenham team camped on the Saturday night and took part in the club racing on the Sunday.

Grimsby & Cleethorpe YC are the host for 2018 on the 14th July.

Full results:


  1     Henry Redman           Covenham

  2     Leo Smith                   Coveham

  3     Harry Nickells            Covenham

  4     Mitch Armour             GCYC

  5     Daylan Elford             GCYC

  6     Archie Smith               Covenham

  7     Polly Spink                 Covenham

  8     Kieran Taylor              GCYC

  9     William Leftley          Covenham

 10    Flinn Kennedy            Covenham


   1    Raif Smith                  Covenham

   2    Ciaron Jefferson          GCYC

   3    Page Amos                  GCYC

   4    Emerald Roach            GCYC


   1    Beckett Marshall        Hykeham

   2    Oliver  Goolden          Covenham

   3    Charcotte Redman      Covenham

         Olivia Redmond

  4     Joe Jackson                 Hykeham

  5     Jacob Osborne            Hykeham

  6     Jake Bird-Teague        GCYC

Peter Bayliss – July 2017

Lincolnshire Junior Sailing Championship 2017

Go back to top of page

Hykeham Hosts

Lincolnshire Youth




Classic & Vintage Racing Dinghy Event 2017

Hykeham Sailing Club hosted its inaugural CVRDA meeting over the weekend of 1-2 July in near perfect summer weather

Four low rider International Moths were joined by two Finns, an Albacore, a Firefly, a Solo and a beautiful National 12  

Race Officer, the highly experienced Steve Sallis, and his team were able to use  the vast majority of the lake's one mile length  to provide interesting and demanding courses which were fair to all of the competitors

Race one saw Phil and Amy Wilson from Ogston fairly explode off the start line in their Firefly but it wasn't long before the Finns of Keith Tunstall ( Severn ) and Peter Vinton (Staunton Harold)  and the Albacore of Sam and Terry Mason  - same surname no relation -  ( Hykeham and Overy Staithe) pulled through and into the lead, The Moths of Ian Marshall, (Oxford) Paul Hignet (Loch Lomond) and Lyndon Beasley (Greenforge) snapping at their heels with Paul Jago's Solo ( Attenborough)  never far from contention. This was to be the pattern for the rest of the weekend with the Finns and the Albacore enjoying some very close racing, while the Moths, Firefly and Solo all had their own battle.

As is the norm, the Moth sailors all took it in turns to test the water temperature with Ian Marshall damaging himself in the third race leaving him unable to sail on the Sunday.  By close of play on Saturday Peter Vinton had mastered the conditions to be counting 2 firsts and a second Keith Tunstall, a first a second and a fifth while the unrelated Masons had a sixth a second and a third. All to play for.

A pleasant evening was spent helping the Marshalls celebrate their 39th wedding anniversary and increasing the bar takings.

A slight change of wind direction meant a new course for Sunday morning, but Sallis rose to the occasion magnificently with a much shorter but equally as testing course.

Race four saw the usual suspects pull away from the fleet with Peter Vinton taking the win from the Masons.  In race five from a very crowded start line, Lyndon Beasley stamped his authority on the fleet in his Moth while Peter Vinton ran onto one of the few shallow patches on the lake and the Masons just never found any sort of form at all and retired. Lyndon went on to win this final race.

Overall a super weekend.

The top four were:

1st  Finn197 Peter Vinton

2nd Finn 60  Keith Tunstall

3rd Moth 3490Lyndon Beasley

4th Albacore 5866 Sam and Terry Mason

Full Results >>

Anyone who has raced against Hykeham Sailing Secretary Steve Sallis will know what a competent and competitive sail he is both at a local and national level. This was borne out by his achievements at the National 12 (Burton Week) and RS300 National Championships.

In the National 12 event he finished 4th out of 33 boats with a 1st and 2nd in the last two races.  To put this into perspective though it must be taken into consideration that he teamed up with crew Katy Meadowcroft having not sailed his National 12 for a year, as far as I know, to achieve this result.  Quite remarkable.  Full results>>

A few days later Steve made the journey of around 500 miles from Weymouth to Prestwick, stopping off at Lincoln to change his National 12 to his RS300 to take part in the RS300 Championships.  In this event he finished 7th overall and 1st Master (Oh how good it is to feel that this young lad is catching me up.  Ed.)

This was another great result.  Well done Steve.

Luke Pepper, who normally gives Steve a good run for his money, also competed in the but having missed a number of races finished 22nd.

Full results and report >>

Steve Sallis flies the Hykeham flag at National 12 and RS300 championships

Go back to top of page

  Results and Reports for Other Events

© Hykeham Sailing Club -  Webmaster Barrie Watson


About Us


Social Events


  -  RYA Level 1

  -  RYA Level 2

  -  LDSA Courses

Taster Days

Racing & Events

 -  Club Results 2018

     -  2017

     -  2016

 -  Other Results

News & Links

    -  Angling Section